Entertainment

An African Musical Icon and Legend Passes: RIP Cesaria Evora “Barefoot Diva”

by Nelima

I woke up this morning to see this message in my Facebook stream.

I was heartbroken! Cesaria Evora has been a long time favorite of mine (and many around the world), I really hoped that I would get the chance to see her perform live. Nonetheless I am glad to have even known of her music, she is singing with the Angels now.

For those of you who didn’t know her – I leave you with her song “Sodade”, which is loosely translated as a feeling of longing for something or someone that one was fond of and which is lost. Visit her official website click here. Feel free to share your thoughts.

 

One thought on “An African Musical Icon and Legend Passes: RIP Cesaria Evora “Barefoot Diva”

Leave a Reply

