Politics

Turning The Page With Obama

by Nekessa

So this is the day many of us have been waiting for. There’s not much that can be said that has not been said already! My family in Kenya tells me the energy there is electric. One of them a Kenyan American, who cast her vote for Obama in November, says to me in a chat in the wee hours of my Minnesotan morning,

“Well, I guess if I’m to be anywhere else on the globe to celebrate my vote, might as well be Kenya.”

Nelima has written a post here on her experience so far at the Capital. I just got off the phone with her (its 6am here, so 5am in DC), and she is freezing as they wait to get into the mall.

“I cannot feel my toes. I am so frozen I cannot even text or tweet.”

If you are watching news, CNN/MSNBC/FOX you will see that there are tons of people! (explains why I am not there because I do not do crowds)

So, I would like to invite you to a liveblog/chat that I will be hosting at kenyaImagine at 10amEST (two hours before the swearing in)

Also, you can follow Nelima’s updates on twitter.com/nelima where she will post updates if her fingers warm up.

Later this evening, I will be at Mshale’s Inaugural dinner at Casablanca in Minneapolis. (You can buy tickets at the door for $25) Hope to see you there.

Cheers!

and happy inaugural day!

Leave a Reply

