Entertainment / Lifestyle / Sports

Zumba away those winter blues!

Ditch the workout and Join the party! 

 

Ditch the workout and Join the party!

by Eva

The cold outside is so numbing it defies description, and it takes all the self control I have to not break down and cry…(sigh). Like a lot of you, I suffer from the blues every winter and I have to consciously stay busy and find different ways to keep myself entertained. One of the ways through which I keep myself from feeling blue is by dancing every chance I get. I dance while cooking, driving to and from work and even in the grocery store when I think no one is looking.

Earlier this year, I was introduced to Zumba and it has enriched my life tremendously. I realized that with Zumba, I could combine my love for fitness with my passion for dancing.  As I was struggling to get my cold bum to work this morning, it also occurred to me that this was the perfect cure for those winter blues. I currently indulge my passion for music and dance every Wednesday at 6:15 to 7:15 pm at the Sabes Jewish Community Center, 4330 S. Cedar Lake Road, Minneapolis, MN 55416.

So whenever you feel out of sorts this winter season, put in some of your favorite music and dance away those blues and if that does not work for you join me on Wednesdays and I guarantee that you’ll be rejuvenated after an hour of Zumba. To see more of what Zumba is like please join us on December 26th at the launch of the African Global Roots event.

So ditch the work out and come Zumba with me!

4 thoughts on “Zumba away those winter blues!

  1. Dancing like laughing has always been in my eyes one of the forms of truly experiencing our inner self where its said we are truly one with a higher power. To discover and actually fall in love with dancing is a blessing beyond words for it is where one can go to replenish self with stuff life is made off and thats LOVE, good for u Eva wish I could join u on ur Wednesday trips to that beautiful place within. Love ur writings

  2. S. Mbugua – Thanks so much for your support and high praise. I really appreciate your feedback.

    aFROSTatarian – Rub it in why don’t you? Thanks for the weather update though 😦

  3. Many people are looking for new ways to get in shape. Zumba appears to be the latest trend. It’s appealing because it associates an activity with working out which makes it interesting. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

