Politics

Share Your Election Stories.

 

 

Photo sent by Small Axe who was in line very early this morning

Photo sent by Small Axe who was in line very early this morning

 

The most highly anticipated day after 2 years of rigorous campaigning. Did you vote today? What was the election experience like for you? What will you miss and what won’t you miss about the whole process? Are you optimistic about your candidate? If you have voted back home how did this experience compare? What’s next? Please share, please share 🙂

 

Courtesy of Richard Amegee who voted at 9am

Courtesy of Richard Amegee who voted at 9am

 

Ato blows a kiss to all the voters

Ato blows a kiss to all the voters

10 thoughts on “Share Your Election Stories.

  1. Here are my reports from my morning in N. Minneapolis. More to come in the afternoon session.

    Voter anticipation must have been very high in North Minneapolis. By 7 am there was a line of over 100 people stretching out the door and down the ramp of North Point Health and Wellness Center. Everyone was happy and energetic; people cheered and clapped everyone who cast their ballot, one guy even broke out into a James Brown dance after voting. “This is like a family reunion, I’ve met people here that I hadn’t seen in a very long time” said Frank McCrary, a special ed. teacher at Transition Plus, who had been in line since 6:45am. He was accompanied by his mom, dad and two younger brothers and none of them were bothered to have stood in line for over two hours to cast their votes. “I’ve voted here ever since I graduated from high school and have never seen this kind of turn out, this is amazing!” he exclaimed. “My candidate is going to win, we in there,” he said “ An Obama presidency would mean a lot for the black people and for everyone being that he is about the grassroots, let’s bring this thing back to the people” he concluded. By 11:30am the line had somewhat shortened and an estimated 400 people had already voted.

    Just a block away at the Minneapolis Urban League (M.U.L) the lines had been longer and enthusiasm was just as high. By noon an estimated 800 people had voted there. For first time voter, 21-year old Shenathia Davis, this was a great experience. “I’ve been here since 9 am and decided to vote because I want Obama to win,” she remarked. Davis who is nine months pregnant explained that an Obama presidency would mean that her son Lequ’an has a chance at being president because he can ‘look like president material’. “Everyone I know has voted for him, he is change,” she added.

    April A. Estes and Richard C. Estes, who own the Estes Funeral Chapel next door to the M.U.L, were among the enthusiastic voters. Mr. Esters could not stand in line for long because of his health so they voted from the curbside in their car. “I’ve never been this excited about voting since Kennedy, but that has never prevented me from voting in the past,” said Mrs. Estes. “This time though I feel like my vote really, really counts because other times no matter who had the vote we (black people) never had any real representation,” she explained. “It looks like its going fine and I hope Obama goes through,” added Mr. Estes. “We have energized everyone in the community to vote and get involved,” said Mrs. Estes. Their 16 year old daughter took time off school and is working at one of the polling locations. “This is history for her too,” said Mrs. Estes.

    Election Judge Lorraine Wilson Pittman had been at the Minneapolis Urban League before 6am and oversaw the curbside voting for Mr. and Mrs. Estes. “We had a line from 6am and everything has been running smoothly. A couple of people had the wrong voting locations, but he helped them find their way,” she said. There seemed to incidences where people wearing Obama shirts were turned back and others who had Obama signs in their parked cars had to take them down. This was Pittman’s first time as an election judge, but she had also worked in the primaries.

  2. If there’s one thing I miss, its not being able to watch MSNBC and participate in the whole electoral process in the US.

    I must say though, its very interesting to see how Kenyans here at home anticipated the American elections, and quite frankly more than last years elections in Kenya. People here lost faith in Kenya’s political system but have not lost hope in America’s system because of a perceived fair, democratic system.

    I voted about 3 weeks ago, as one of the 6 million American citizens who reside outside of Kenya, but it was such a process and I am hopeful that I completed everything as required. I just watched CNN and there are reports of error’s found within some of the overseas votes that were mailed in (such as mine), but anyway, I voted for Obama in paper and in spirit, and that’s all that matters.

    Kisumu just had its own mock elections and it was just amazing to see how much love Kenyans have for Obama. Of course, he won this mock election and it is going to be a long night and day for many Kenyans tomorrow, as Christians -Kesha while praying for Obama, Bar’s remain open for the drinkers who wait to see his victory speech, and those like me who are struggling online here ( on and off process).

    Good Luck Obama!

  3. Wow Lisa that’s a great insight! People here are euphoric, you should have seen the reactions from black people in North Minneapolis. People have become very hopeful. Frank – Anita’s jamaa said that he met people he had hadn’t in many years. Everyone was so joyful. Indeed Good Luck Obama.

  4. I wish I was in Kisumu right now! From what I have seen in Rift Valley and just heard about the Post Election Violence…Kenyans deserve to celebrate the US elections. Most of those who are from Obama FYI come from the lower class Kenyans, who suffered most due to the violence in December through early this year.

    But the euphoria here is great! Kesho, I shall celebrate with my people!Go Obama! Go!

  5. Well I am one of the Aliens that cannot vote as I choose to keep my dual citizen status of Canada & Trinidad. SO instead I have volunteered as much as i can in my community and spread the word here at work to let unregistered voters what websites they can go to to find voter registration information & polls. Last night I cried just like many fellow americans & my 4 yr old Justin when we heard Obama’s granny died. Yes my 4 yrd old American child even knows what a great time we are in. My niece, and other family members have been hitting the polls all day and the feedback is so Posistve. SO FOR ALL OF US GREEN CARD HOLDERS WHO CAN PAY TAXES BUT DONT HAVE THE PRIVILEGE TO VOTE. MAKE A CHANGE FOR US AS WELL. One love! Cheers

  6. first off, nice blog y’all hats off, nice 2 see some intelligensia from the African diaspora, well i ended up voting for the Green Party with Cynthia McKinney/Rosa Clemente ticket woohoo, grassroots politics babyee but hope my boy Obama wins as long as it aint McDummy and Moose killer Palin its all good
    lmao…
    peace, stay blessed

  7. This was a text message from my friend Adeola at 6:34pm, “I voted! I voted for change, and it feels good. I hope u did ur part. U have till 8pm.”

  8. Thanks Trinny and great comments! I just read an article that was pushing to allow people with green cards to vote – even if only for local elections. Hopefully that will be a topic of interest soon.

Leave a Reply

