Entertainment

Readings by Writers of Color

Ibe

Ibe

By Nekessa 
Eight years ago when I was new to Minnesota I randomly found out about Intermedia Arts, an arts center in Minneapolis. It was such a long time ago, I don’t remember how I did. All I remember is that it was a cold winter evening, and that I rode the bus from St. Paul to Minneapolis.  I wrote a lot of poetry then, and was convinced if I went to enough poetry readings I would find a community to belong to. So the cold was worth it.

That night, the center had on display art from Minneapolis high school children. For entertainment, there were two spoken word artists. One was a friend I had met in college, who I will write about later. And the other was a young man from Guinea whose poetry I have come to know almost off the top of my head. Well, some of his poetry.

This poet is Ibe. And he is one of the most celebrated spoken word in the Twin Cities. I just learned that Ibe will be performing this Thurday at Intermedia Arts, where he has done several shows in the past. If you can, please try and make it. His poetry is beautiful and beautiful. You can visit his website here, and a review of his first book Bridge Across the Atlantic here. Sign up for his newsletter if you are interested in attending one of his performances.

The event dubbed; Beyond the Pure: Readings By Writers of Color will also feature spoken word poet Bao Phi and author Sun Yung Shin. Shin has written an incredible book on transracial adoptions.  You can check out her blog here

Thursday, October 9, 2008  7:00 PM
Intermedia Arts  2822 Lyndale Ave S, Minneapolis  
Admission by donation; wine & beer reception to follow

Leave a Reply

